SoCo Collection & Farmer’s Market

We’re happy to announce that Taco María will be at SoCo Collection in Costa Mesa for lunch next Thursday the 22nd from 11am to 2pm and again the following Thursday the 29th.

Then, starting September 30th and into October, we will be at SoCo every Tuesday afternoon, Friday night, and Saturday morning for the SoCo Farmer’s Market.

Here’s the full list:

  • Thursday, September 22: 11am – 2pm
  • Thursday, September 29: 11am – 2pm
  • Friday, September 30: 5pm – 8pm
  • Saturday, October 1: 9am – 2pm
  • Tuesday, October 4: 11am – 2pm
  • Friday, October 7: 5pm – 8pm
  • Saturday, October 8: 9am – 2pm
  • Tuesday, October 11: 11am – 2pm
  • Thursday, October 13: 11am – 2pm
  • Friday, October 14: 5pm – 8pm
  • Saturday, October 15: 9am – 2pm
  • Tuesday, October 18: 11am – 2pm
  • Friday, October 21: 5pm – 8pm
  • Saturday, October 22: 9am – 2pm
  • Tuesday, October 25: 11am – 2pm
  • Thursday, October 27: 11am – 2pm
  • Friday, October 28: 5pm – 8pm
  • Saturday, October 29: 9am – 2pm

SoCo Farmer’s Market is one of our favorites in OC. Our menu will feature fruits and vegetables from your local vendors: corn, squash, watermelons, blueberries, and more.

A special thanks to the SoCo Collection and Farmer’s Market organizers for inviting us out and for the great work they’re doing in our community.

Roots

At Taco María, we’re excited to bring new traditions together with the old, starting from the ground up with the most basic Mexican food ingredients. We’ve received our first shipment of heirloom dried beans from Rancho Gordo, Steve Sando’s “New World Specialty Food” company in Napa, California.

Rancho Gordo aims to revive indigenous ingredients and support California agriculture as well as farmers and forgotten varieties from across the border.

The Rio Zape bean is a very special legume, dark and mysterious with subtle flavors of coffee and cocoa. We cook it very simply with brûlée onions, garlic, and bay leaf and mash it coarsely for our rich refried beans.

North America’s own Tepary bean was developed by indigenous people to be drought tolerant. These little white beans have a unique texture and a mild maple-syrup aroma and are best presented whole. We cook them lovingly with a beso of ancho chile and a touch of piloncillo (Mexican raw sugar.)

Meet Frida

Welcome to TacoMaría.com. It’s our pleasure to introduce you to Frida, our kitchen on wheels. She was born in East LA at West Coast Catering Trucks and dressed in vinyl by the talented team at Wrap One in Anaheim.

So named because of her mustache and her fierce individualism, Frida will be taking us all over Orange County to serve our sustainable Mexican cuisine in your neighborhood and at your local farmer’s markets.

We’ll be rolling out soon to locations in Orange, Costa Mesa, Anaheim, Fullerton, Irvine and more in the next few weeks.